top of page

chakra singing bowls

chakra singing bowls

Nepalese chakra singing bowls

At Resilience, chakra singing bowls are optional instruments for sound healing. Their use is dependent on the energetic needs and preferences of each client.

Overview of Chakras and Chakra Singing Bowls


The concept of the chakra system originated in India between 1500 and 500 BC as referenced in the Vedas, the most ancient of Hindu scriptures. The word "chakra" means spinning disk or wheel.

There are seven major chakras or spinning wheels of energy located along the vertical midline of our bodies. Each of these chakras is associated with a particular life function and area of the body, and is represented by a specific color.

1st or Root Chakra (red):



2nd or Sacral Chakra (orange):



3rd or Solar Plexus Chakra (yellow):

personal power


4th or Heart Chakra (green):



5th or Throat Chakra (blue):

self expression


6th or Third Eye Chakra (indigo):


sinus/lower brain

7th or Crown Chakra (violet):

spiritual connection

nerves/upper brain

When an area of the body is healthy, it emits a natural resonant frequency that is in harmony with the rest of the body. These frequencies vary by body area/chakra, and each is associated with a musical note.

1st Chakra: note C

2nd Chakra: note D

3rd Chakra: note E

4th Chakra: note F

5th Chakra: note G

6th Chakra: note A

7th Chakra: note B


However our bodies can become "out of tune" by stress, sickness, injury or simply by the challenges we face in daily life. And much like a musical instrument that must be re-tuned when it becomes out of key, our bodies also need to be re-tuned when physical or spiritual dis-ease disrupts our natural harmony.


For many centuries, singing bowls have been used for sound healing. Chakra singing bowls are a specialized subset of these bowls. Each of the seven chakra bowls is tuned to one of the chakra frequencies or notes, thus playing these bowls can help us re-tune our chakras. After the energy of our chakra system is re-harmonized, we are able to live a healthier and more balanced life physically, emotionally and spiritually.

bottom of page